top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSinem Balsu

How They Roast Turkish Pumpkin Seeds In Nevsehir Region

Those who know me know very well. I've never been able to take good care of myself. It was because the circumstances demanded it. I was always in a rush. I've always had different priorities. That's why I couldn't pay attention to my diet. There was me somewhere that I forgot.


Travel To Cappadocia With Sudden Decision



One day, it was a time when life was very difficult for me. I was very bored. I bought a plane ticket with a sudden decision. And I went to the Cappadocia region. It was my first time going to the Cappadocia region.


I had seen the region on television. But, I had no idea about the area. I explored the region on my own with the knowledge I had before acquired. My first stop was Uçhisar. While walking around the Uçhisar castle, I saw a woman in the street.


She wears local clothes. She wore a headscarf called Yemeni in those regions. He was wearing a gold-colored salwar suit. She was wearing a knit sweater. He was sitting on the ground. And in front of him was a sack of Turkish pumpkin seeds. I didn't understand why the woman was selling pumpkin seeds. And for the moment, I did not understand such a product sale in the region.



I went to the saleswoman and started chatting. I asked if there was a property of Turkish pumpkin seeds. She said she was selling local pumpkin seeds from the region. We always think we know a lot. But in reality, we know very little about our country. I understood it for myself that day. It's okay to say I'm ashamed of myself.


The saleswoman noticed the strange expression on my face. She has a tolerant and smiling expression of the Anatolian woman. She handed me some pumpkin seeds. She said I should try it and I'd know the difference right away. He had a very sincere expression. I couldn't deny her. And I took one piece.


How Was Taste Of Turkish Pumpkin In Nevsehir?


Its taste was amazing. It left a very different taste in my mouth. As one ate, one's food came. It was not like other Turkish salted pumpkin seeds. I asked her where they were producing it. They grow local Turkish pumpkin seeds in the Nevşehir region. This is the most preferred variety in our country. They are also export pumpkin seeds abroad.


“Of course, this is not the only difference in our pumpkin seeds,” he said. And she started to give information about the local Turkish salted pumpkin seeds. She told me to look at her appearance first, she said. As those who consume pumpkin seeds will know very well, it was much larger. But, it turns out that it wasn't because it was so delicious.


What Is The Secret Of Roasting Turkish Pumpkin Seeds?


Geographical and climatic features also had an effect. Besides, they roast pumpkin seeds with natural milk in this region. Its flavor comes from being roasted with milk, not water. There is already a lot of difference between the ones that are roasted with water. You can immediately understand this. The fact that it is crispy creates another taste situation.


While chatting with the seller, I was eating Turkish pumpkin seeds. I learned a lot about the area. As you learn new things, you realize how little you know. I bought pumpkin seeds. The saleswoman also stated that pumpkin seeds are useful.


By the time my Cappadocia trip was over, the pumpkin seeds were already finished. I went back to the same woman to take it home. In fact, they sell only pumpkin seeds roasted in milk in the region. But I preferred that working woman. Today, a very special bond has formed between us. I order when I run out of pumpkin seeds. He sends it to me immediately. This short vacation was very good for me in every sense.

4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page